Archive | October 20, 2010

OUTER CHALLENGE WEDNESDAYS

       Setting Writing Boundaries
            
       Setting writing boundaries is similar very important if you are
       going to be a successful writer. In order to set writing boundaries,
       you must act like a writer. You must tell your family and friends
       that you are a writer and that you will be taking some time away
       from them to do your writing.
      
       But further, writers have different tendencies and habits than
       nonwriters. Some writers carry a notebook with them at all times.
       Other writers may stop and take notes from time to time. And
       many people that are close to you may find this quite outrageous.
       If this is the case, don’t worry about it. This is their discomfort and
       not yours.
      
       To set writing boundaries, the writer must move, breathe, and
       live as a writer. I know that my life changed completely when I
       became a writer. Not only did I carry a notebook with me
       wherever I went, but I would take it out and take notes at odd
       times. If an idea popped into my head, I would jot it down.  There
       are times I would stop in the middle of a walk or while I’m in a
       restaurant and write something down. Yes, my family did gawk at
       me as if what I did was strange, but this didn’t concern me. And
       over time, they got used to me.
      
       Are you ready to make such changes in order to be a writer? In
       order to be successful, you will have to. And you will have to put
       up with a bit of ridicule too. But try not to let it get to you because
       this is one important way for you to set writing boundaries. 
       
       ~ Happy boundary setting!
       ~ Irene