The Perils of Emotional Eating

The Healthy WriterWriters tend to be sensitive. And because of this, they do a lot of emotional eating.

If you find yourself eating or binge eating when you are happy or sad, take heart. This blog post is for you.

There are ways to combat emotional eating while writing. I will talk quite a bit about that in future blog posts.

But first, I would like to tell you my story.

I have been writing for over 25 years, and for most of those years, 20+ years, I had no problem with overeating and binging. I would simply sit down and write and most of the time I would be off to the classroom to teach. So, there was no time to eat a lot of food.

However, when I started teaching only part-time, I found that my binge eating increased drastically. I did a lot of snacking and I snacked for all kinds of reasons.

I snacked when I was happy.

I snacked when I was sad or in pain.

I snacked when I had an argument with my spouse.

I snacked when I finished writing a manuscript and when I started it.

In other words, I was eating a LOT. And I was eating a lot of junk–mostly sugar. So, I put on a LOT of weight: 50 pounds to be exact.

I went to my doctor, and he said that I had high blood pressure, and so it was a major wake up call for me. I know that I had to do something to get my weight under control. But what precisely?

I went on every diet known to man–and still no luck!

Then I went to a dietician, and I realized that I was doing a lot of emotional eating. That was a big AHA moment for me. But how was I going to combat that? I ate for comfort all my life–probably from the time I was five or six?

I sat down with my dietician about six months, and I had to do a lot of journaling to find out what precisely my food triggers were. Once I listed them, I could deal with them.

Why am I telling you all this?

Because I believe that writers are at risk to become very unhealthy unless they take control of their binge eating and emotional eating habits.

Like all habits, you can change them. It just takes a lot of time and patience.

So, do you have the patience to stop binge eating?

Stay tuned for more information in the weeks that follow.

~ Until Next Time!

Irene S. Roth

 

One thought on “The Perils of Emotional Eating

  1. Pingback: emotional eating - The Working Writer's Club

Leave a Reply

