Day 1: Two New Books for Teachers of English Language Learners

speaking and writingToday I’m pleased to kick off the 5-day virtual tour, sponsored by the Working Writer’s Club, for Dorit Sasson’s two new books:

Speaking and DoritSasson Day 1 (2)Writing for English Language Learners: Collaborative Teaching for Greater Success with K-6
Reading and Listening for English Language Learners: Collaborative Teaching for Greater Success for K-6.

I hope you’ll enjoy learning more about Dorit and how she came to write these books.

Meet Author Dorit Sasson

Writing for children came naturally to me because I started out as an EFL (English as a foreign language teacher) in Israel to young elementary students, but the topic for these two books didn’t appear until many years later when I decided to relocated to the US.

While navigating the cultural classroom in Israel, I came across many hurdles trying to collaborate with other native Hebrew speaking teachers. There was often a cultural disconnect between the way we perceived our work and our students.
Although this early experience left a sour taste in my mouth, I was more motivated than ever to collaborate with others. Back in 2007, during my first year in the States, I hooked up with a few teacher bloggers who didn’t know much about teaching K-2 ESL students and I jumped into their conversations unknowing that one of them would soon become my coauthor.

The one blogger who would become my coauthor (another story in itself), and I really deepened our understanding of how each other’s classrooms were structured. On the one hand, I had little experience of mainstream K-6 teaching and she benefitted from my knowledge of ESL teaching strategies and techniques. In our own small and significant way, we were collaborating without really even knowing it!

The next thing you know, I approached this blogger and asked if she would be interested in collaborating on a book that took the form of strategies for the At-Risk K-2 ESL student.

Even with my limited editorial and publishing experience back then, I had managed to get the attention of an editor at a reputable educational publishing company. I didn’t have a special education credits and took his feedback and together we worked on the proposal immensely as two coauthors.

In the end, the proposal was not accepted. Yet, the topic of collaboration between ESL and general education classroom teachers was very dawning. I quickly realized that if I truly wanted to make “something” out of this topic, I would need to keep an eye out on the trends, because that was what publishers needed for teachers.

So the proposal was again revamped for the sake of this new topic, “Collaboration for K-2 ELL students” since my expertise focused on bridging the gaps of early and middle stages of literacy. And then I did what no other writer who has published on similar topics had done before – I broke down the topic of collaboration to focus on the four skill sets – listening, reading, speaking and writing. The rationale was to show teachers how it’s possible to deliberately collaborate with the four skills in mind.

After procuring a contract with a second publisher, the big book was later separated into two smaller ones and is now Speaking and Writing for English Language Learners: Collaborative Teaching for Greater Success for K-6 and Reading and Listening for English Language Learners: Collaborative Teaching for Greater Success for K-6.

To learn more about Dorit and her writing, visit Giving Voice to Your Story.

Continue following this book tour tomorrow, by visiting http://karencioffiwritingandmarketing.com

 

Leave a Reply

