Meet A Very Special Author: Madeline Courtney

Madeline Courtney1. Tell us a few things about yourself and what you are up to right now…

My name is Madeline Courtney. I’m currently finishing High School a year earlier than I’m supposed to. Something I’m super-duper proud about. I’m also currently working on my first novel The Case of Irene Adler which will be the first book that I am self-publishing. It is also the first book in a Saga.

2.  Who is your favorite author?

I would have to say… Darn. I have three. Meg Cabot (author of Princess Diaries and many, many others). Stephenie Meyer (I think everyone knows who she is). and last, but not least by a long shot, is V.C. Andrews (author of Flowers in the Attic and many more).

3. What are your hobbies?

Besides reading and writing? Um… that’s a tough one. I like to watch BBC and hang out with my bestie, Melissa Scholes.

4.  What inspired you to write The Case of Irene Adler?

This is my favorite question. It has a long answer. I was inspired to write The Case of Irene Adler because I love detective stories. When I was a child, from ages three to thriteen to be exact, I was sexually molested and raped repeatedly until I finally had told someone. Before I got the guts to speak up I would create little day dreams or “stories”, if you will, inside my head of becoming an awesome detective that put her rapist in jail.

Originally the story was called Panty Police and it took place in modern-day Tulsa, OK.

But then my friend Angie Davis introduced me to Sherlock Holmes. In honestly, I fell in love with Mr. Holmes (and I still am!). Someone to protect me and take care of me. So I began to write, starting all over. This was also modern-day, but this time it took place in London.

Then one night when I was on the phone with Melissa she suggested it take place in 1875 because as of lately (at the time) Sherlock and Elementary had come out and it would just seem so… over done.

So I started all over again. I chose to add in Irene Adler later on and the story sort of became a retelling of A Scandal in Bohemia (my favorite Holmes story). I added in the Immortal beings without second thought because writing something so… normal was so boring to me. I also wanted it to be new and fresh, something no one has ever done before. Does that answer the question is sort terms? I could go on and on.

5. Was this a difficult book to write?

In some ways it was because I had no idea how much detail to go into and I think I blubbered a lot. It was also much more… bloody than I was used too and Melissa had to help me with that. She’s more of the… freak. *laughs,* She’s going to kill me for saying that.

6. Can you summarize your upcoming book?

Enter Jonelle Watson:

An Irish Gypsy medium abandoned by her Group for producing a still-borne child. A young woman of eighteen selling her body to the night just so she could go some place warm, if only for a little while. Homeless. Dying from the freezing cold of Christmas Eve, 1875 London, And just when she is about to finally give up and just lay in the snow to die,.. A man saves her. He invites her into his home to warm up and for dinner. She is surprised to be treated as an equal by his housekeeper. During dinner they are interrupted by a knock at the door. Who could it be at such a late hour?

A king. A king with a problem.

The man who saved Jonelle is, in fact, the great Sherlock Holmes.

Sherlock is provided with a strange case in which Jonelle must pretend to be his new bride… but for a hearty price. Seven hundred dollars. That’s enough to last Jonelle a few years and she agrees without hesitation.

Enter Irene Adler:

Well respected vampire. The queen of England… at least the vampire part. A beautiful opera singer and very, very rich. But is she all she’s cracked up to be? Irene has a secret and with Sherlock Holmes and some bitch following her every move it’s getting even harder to keep that secret. Maybe she’ll just kill them both.

7. What are your future writing projects?

Sci Fi. One hundred percent Sci Fi. I’m talking aliens, spaceships, and the end of the world.

8. How do you divide your writing day?

I have a schedule.

8:30-9am Wake up and lie in bed on Twitter
9-10am Get up, make my coffee. Chat with mom for about an hour.
10-1pm Write without stopping except for pee breaks and more coffee.
1-2:30pm Get ready for school
3-6pm School
6-8pm my brother’s football (unless I decide to stay home. Then I write some more).
9-10pm Dinner with family
10-12am Online chatting with readers and fellow authors.
Repeat.

9. Any tips for aspiring writers?

Don’t make excuses. If you really want to do it, then do it.  WRITE

10. Could you share your website with other readers?

I’m currently creating my website. But follow me on Twitter for updates and if you just wanna chat about books. @__perfect__12

Thank you for visiting with me on my blog today.  You are truly an inspiration and I look forward to reading your book when it is released.

Leave a Reply

