Meet Dennise Bensie

Benise banner
1. Could you tell us a little about yourself?

I am a 47 year old gay man living in Seattle. I am a writer, an artist, and a dog lover.

2. Describe your desk/workspace.

I have a Macbook Pro on a rolling computer stand. Sometime I sit on the floor in the bathroom and work on a small folding tray as a desk

3. Do you have a favorite quote?

Oddly enough, I don’t think I do.

4. What are you currently reading?

Cyndi Lauper’s memoir

5. What is the best advice you’ve ever received?

Calm down.

6. If you could have coffee with anyone (living or dead, real or fictional), who would it be and why?

Sylvia Plath. What a complicated woman. I want to know what her process was and how she dealt with (and didn’t deal with) her demons.

7. What are your top three favorite books and why?

I loved CALL ME ANNA by Patty Duke. I love memoirs and this one was very frank and embraced her manic depression. She had quite the time before she was properly diagnoses and treated and I identified with that in my book SHORN. I was a fan of hers before I read it, but loved her more after.

THE BELL JAR had a huge effect on me in high school. It rattled me. I thought I was Ester Greenwood and it frightened me. My mom was told by my therapist to hide the book from me —which looking back I think was a dumb thing to do.
I love BARREL FEVER by David Sedaris. I read it over and over when it came out. It’s just plain funny.

8. What was your favorite book as a child and why?

I read a book in middle school called HEY DUMMY by Kin Platt. It was about a boy who befriends a kid who was brain damaged and is persecuted for it. In the end he also becomes brain damaged.

9. What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?

My quirk is I really don’t know what I am doing. I don’t know the rules. I’ve never been trained or even had a creative writing class. I just do it.

10. Do you write full-time or part-time?

I write when I’m required or inspired.

11. If you could do anything in the world, what would it be and why?

I think I would be my own sort of bohemian and jump from art project to art project. That’s what I’m kind of doing now, but I wouldn’t have a day job. I also fantasize about rescuing dogs in need.

12. What is the craziest thing you ever did? This could be as a writer or any other time in your life.

I once got my best friend 100 two liter bottles of Coke Zero for his birthday. He loved Coke Zero and when it first came out it was hard to find. He complained about the store always being out of it so I spent a few days buying him every bottle of Coke Zero I could find.

13. Did you feel like a celebrity when you held your first published book?

No. I was paranoid. My books are memoirs and are not the most flattering details of my life.

14. If you could have a star like on Hollywood Blvd, who would you want to have your star by? This can be an actually star on Hollywood Blvd. or someone you just admire.

I don’t want a star on Hollywood Blvd. People walk all over you.

15. Is there anything in your life you wish you could do over and why?

I wish my dad and I had a better relationship. Sometimes we really needed each other and weren’t there for each other.

16. Who has been your biggest support or inspiration?

My best friend, Jim. He doesn’t put up with my crap. That’s how you earn a 100 bottles of Coke Zero on your birthday.

17. Could you share about any current writing projects?

I have just been asked to be a staff writer for an online men’s magazine called THE GOOD MEN PROJECT. I have done several articles for them and I love it. I am the “voice of gay marriage” for them. I continue to write short stories and I am working on my third book about my adoption.

18. What would be the best way for readers to contact you?

dennisdodie@me.com I love email.

19. Where can people find your book?

Both my books are on Amazon.com and other online booksellers.

20. Is there anything else you’d like to share?

I think I’m good. Thanks for asking.

Thanks so much for visiting me on my blog! I wish you much success in the future

Leave a Reply

