Meet Penny Lockwood Ehrenkranz, Author and Editor

Boos Bad Day - cover resizedBOO’S BAD DAY
By: Penny Lockwood

Picture book for children aged 18 months to 6 years
Published by 4RV Publishing
ISBN# 13: 978-0-9852661-5-8
4RV – http://www.4rvpublishingcatalog.com/penny-lockwood.php
$8.99 includes s/h

Look inside at Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Boos-Bad-Day-Penny-Lockwood/dp/0985266155/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top
$7.32 prime

Penny, it is GREAT to have you here on my blog.  I look forward to getting to know you more.

 

Penny1. Tell us a few things about yourself.

I am a wife, a mother of two wonderful (now adult) children, and two (soon to be three) grandchildren. I live in the Pacific Northwest with my husband on five acres, which we feel quite fortunate to own. We have two small dogs (Lhasa Apso/Poodle mix siblings) and two cats. When I’m not writing, I edit for MuseItUP Publishing, I enjoy reading, gardening, crocheting, and spending time with my family.

2. What is your favorite book?

That changes from year to year, but currently, my favorite series is the George R. R. Martin, A Song of Ice and Fire. It has definitely become one of my all-time favorites inching past The Lord of the Rings trilogy.
Since I’m promoting a picture book, however, I’ll say my favorite children’s book is Green Eggs and Ham.

3. Who is your favorite author?

There are so many I enjoy right now. Mostly I read Kim Harrison, George R. R. Martin, Devon Monk, and Jim Butcher.
And as above, my favorite children’s author is the beloved Dr. Suess.

4. What inspired you to want to write your current book?

Boo’s Bad Day is loosely based on a real life event. Our cat, Boo, as a teenager was stranded in a tall fir-tree during an ice storm for two nights. When I decided to write a picture book for my granddaughter, Boo’s adventure came to mind. Of course, by the time Boo was published, my granddaughter is almost too old to enjoy the story. Fortunately, my grandson, who came along later, asks to read the “kitty” story every day.

5. Was this a difficult book to write?

The most difficult thing was trying to keep it at the appropriate word length for a picture book. It was also hard to avoid including descriptive words. With a picture book, the author needs to leave a lot of information to the imagination of the illustrator. I was fortunate to have a wonderful illustrator, Deborah C. Johnson.

6. What are your future writing projects?

I have two middle grade novels in edits now with 4 RV: Ghost for Rent and Ghost for Lunch, which will be packaged together. They should be ready for publication late this year or early next year. I’m in the very beginning stages of working on a sequel to the Ghost books. I also have a contract for another picture book, Many Colored Coats. In addition, I’ve got adult fantasy in progress.

7. How do you divide your writing day? Are you a full-time writer? Are you a part-time writer?

Since I retired from my day job in 2008, I should say I’m a full-time writer, but I’m not. I work part-time as an editor for MuseItUP Publishing. I also do daycare for my 21-month-old grandson usually two days a week. My 97-year-old mom lives with us, and I am her primary caregiver. Unfortunately, writing gets squeezed in when I find a few free moments.
On days when I’m not actively doing the above, I begin with checking email for work-related things. I do some promoting on networking sites after email and then do my writing later in the day. I am not a morning person…

8. Do you have tips for aspiring writers?

I’ve been fortunate to run a writing class for grade school students and mentor a high school student who wants to be a writer. In these sessions, I stress the importance of good grammar, spelling, and punctuation. I encourage my students to expand their vocabulary and watch out for word repetition. I remind them the importance of developing believable characters, strong settings, and making sure there are plenty of obstacles for the characters to hurdle before bringing the story to a plausible conclusion.
After the story is completed, I tell my students to put the work aside for at least a week before going back to re-read and edit. Once they feel they’re ready to submit, I remind them everyone gets rejected. It doesn’t mean they aren’t talented. It just means they need to read guidelines closely, make sure their manuscripts are free of errors, and submit again.

9. Any last words?

I want to thank all the people who have already purchased a copy of Boo’s Bad Day for their children, their grandchildren, their nieces and nephews. It’s heartwarming to read so many positive reviews.

10. Could you share your website with our readers?

My website is: http://pennylockwoodehrenkranz.yolasite.com
My blog is: http://pennylockwoodehrenkranz.blogspot.com
My buy links for Boo’s Bad Day are:
4RV – http://www.4rvpublishingcatalog.com/penny-lockwood.php
$8.99 includes s/h

Look inside at Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Boos-Bad-Day-Penny-Lockwood/dp/0985266155/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top
$7.32 prime

If you missed yesterday’s post on Penny’s tour, go to http://nancymariebell.blogspot.com. Tomorrow, I’ll be visiting with http://sueperkinsauthor.blogspot.com.

One thought on “Meet Penny Lockwood Ehrenkranz, Author and Editor

Leave a Reply

