Meet Scott R. Caseley

Joining us today is Scott R. Caseley, author of Isosceles. This is a children’s book geared toward ages a mature 14-18.

Scott R. Casey

Can you please start off by telling us a bit about yourself?

I’m from New Hampshire, born and raised on the Massachusetts border, graduated from Franklin Pierce University with a degree in Mass Communication with a minor in History. After college, I made a film, got trained as a stage, film and voice actor. I hope to write books, screenplays, for a profession, and to become a motivational speaker for folks wanting to follow their dreams.

When did you first get published?

Isosceles is my first novel and it was released in January of 2013. Before this, I wrote for an online magazine back in 2007-2008.

Do you feel you were bit by the writing bug?

Bit like Peter Parker by the spider, because this bug has given me the ability to climb walls and see and hear things that others cannot. Okay, that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but being a writer has made me more attuned to the world around me that I otherwise might not have been.

Why did you decide to write for children?

Books were one of my biggest escapes during childhood. I didn’t fit in that much in elementary school, so I instead would retreat underneath a tree with my nose in a book. So, I write my books to try to give that kind of connection to a young audience.

Do you believe it is harder to write books for a younger audience vs. a teen or adult reader?

No, not at all, I think that writing for anyone at any age group presents it’s own set of challenges. You just need to write in a way that gives the reader a feeling that they are getting something out of the book, be it educational, or just entertainment. The best way to deliver these regardless of whom you’re focused on is to do it earnestly and not condescending to your audience.

What is your favorite part of writing for young people?

Showing them that I have been there during a lot of the problems that they have feel like no one can understand. One of the biggest issues a kid can feel is isolation, and I think that an author can show them a whole world of people that are like them. Telling them honestly that their problems are important, and not unique can go a long way to helping them.

Can you tell us what your latest book is all about?

Nineteen-year-old Sean McIntyre wakes up during Labor Day weekend after his best friend Trey Goodsby stayed the night in his new apartment and finds him dead in the bathroom. In the chapters that follow we will go back in time thirteen years to witness the beginning, the building and the ups and downs of their friendship. Through this journey, we discover what led this to happen, and how his death will impact Sean and those that were closest to the two boys, especially Madeline Edwards who constantly came between them.

What inspired you to write it?

In my early twenties, many people around my age passed away suddenly through a variety of different ways. I started to evaluate what death means to me, to society, to other people I know. I also started to think about the nature of friendship and what it means in death as opposed to and in conjunction of what it means in life. I started to ask myself a lot of questions about these subjects and I felt the best way to find the answers was to write about people going through the same feelings.

Where can readers purchase a copy?

MuseItUp Publishing
http://museituppublishing.com/bookstore2/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=562&category_id=198&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=1&vmcchk=1&Itemid=1
Amazon.com
https://www.amazon.com/author/scottrcaseley
Amazon UK
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Isosceles-ebook/dp/B00B1FVEJE/ref=la_B00B1R72UC_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1358378543&sr=1-1
Barnes and Noble
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/isosceles-scott-r-caseley/1114620852?ean=2940044319295
Bookstrands
http://www.bookstrand.com/isosceles
Coffee Time Romance & More http://www.coffeetimeromance.com/BookStore/pubs_product_book_info/museitup-publishing-c-98/isosceles-p-9391?zenid=64b39640f2d9d31c7d87a56b91468212
Koko
http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/Isosceles/book-hDqcO8YOPUOgpw7esMVd8Q/page1.html?s=8nTzW1Akg0i5676i6IkVBg&r=1Omnilit
https://www.omnilit.com/product-isosceles-1042768-232.html
Smashwords
https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/285718

Do you have a website and/or blog where readers can find out more?

I have two webpages, please like me at https://www.facebook.com/ScottRCaseleyWriter, and my blog is https://www.scottrcaseleyauthor.com. I’m also on Twitter @scottrcaseley, and you can email me at SRCaseley@gmail.com.

What is up next for you?

I’m writing a romantic caper that spans all across New England involving a technique called polyphony, which incorporates many different points of view and voices chapter to chapter. It’s a contemporary piece and I’m switching it up a little from my usual story. I usually have an introvert helming the action with extroverts around them, but this time, it appears that there will be an extrovert at the center, and at least one introvert by their side. I’m also going to have a female main protagonist this go-around.

Do you have anything else to add?

If you’re reading this and want to try something you’ve never done like act in a play, try out for a team, write a book, something that won’t cause you or anyone else harm, don’t let anyone or doubt stand in your way.

Thank you for spending time with us today. We wish you much success.

It was a pleasure talking to you and getting to know you more on Blog Talk Radio on March 11th.  Please keep in touch, and I wish you all the best in your writing life.  You are truly a gifted story teller.

2 thoughts on “Meet Scott R. Caseley

Leave a Reply

