Meet Christine Amsden

Christine Amsden author (1)Welcome to my blog Christine! I look forward to getting to know you more.

1. Tell us a few things about yourself.

I spend most of my time with my head in the clouds. Really, there was nothing else for me to do but write fiction! I have two beautiful children. When I’m not writing or spending time with them, I enjoy playing games of all sorts. And reading.

2. What is your favorite book?

I only get one? No fair! I really can’t pick a favorite. Depending upon my mood, I read a wide variety of genres. The only thing I universally look for is a compelling character. I reread Harry Potter enough times to be embarrassing, but I think I’ve got that out of my system. For the past few years, I’ve read a lot of romance – Linda Howard, Catherine Anderson, and Jayne Ann Krentz are among my favorites. I also loved Karen Marie Moning’s Fever series.

3. What inspired you to want to write your current book?

Cassie herself inspired me to write this book. She was someone whose story wasn’t being told – that of the powerless person in a world of magic. It’s a disability of sorts, one that affects her deeply though she tries to play it off. Yet she has value. Fiction sometimes narrowly defines heroes as the biggest and the strongest, the one with the destiny to fulfill, but normal people can make a difference. That was important to me. This is not the story of someone who comes into power. It is the story of someone who discovers there is more than one kind of power.

The story itself is fantasy, mystery, romance, and coming of age. I think it has broad appeal, and a strong central character to hold it all together.

CassieScot_med4. Was this a difficult book to write?

Not at all! It flowed out of me, especially as a rough draft. Some of the later revisions were difficult. I imagine that’s exactly because the first draft came so easily. I was reluctant to make changes, even when I knew I could make it better. I did, though. I revised three times, and I love the result.

5. What are your future writing projects?

Cassie has a whole series, so I’m not done with her yet. She has four books. I’ve written them all, but there are still revisions to do once my editors get hold of them. I’m in the middle of edits for Secrets and Lies, book two, right now.

After that, I’ve got two choices. I may work on spin-offs for two minor characters in the Cassie Scot series who seem to be demanding stories of their own. Or I may work on a new paranormal series I’m developing from scratch.

6. How do you divide your writing day? Are you a full time writer? Are you a part-time writer?

I don’t have a set schedule. When I’m on form, I try to devote two hours of my day to working on new material and nothing else. I’m rarely on form. I tend to get caught up in revisions when editorial feedback comes in. (Like right now.)

I guess you could say I write full time. Little of that time is spent on actual writing, though. There’s marketing, networking, and critiquing other novels (in exchange for critiques of my own). I have also gotten into freelance editing to help supplement my income.

7.  Do you have tips for aspiring writers?

Plenty of them! Check out my website at http://www.christineamsden.com where I blog “Tips for writers” whenever the mood strikes. (And sometimes when it doesn’t.

8.  Any last words?

Thank you so much for having me here! I’m really excited to have the chance to talk about this latest book. No character has ever spoken to me like Cassie has, and I hope readers will love her story.

9. Could you share your website with our readers?

http://www.christineamsden.com

I have my contact information right on my web site and will respond to any e-mail that doesn’t look like blatant spam.

Leave a Reply

