Visualize Success

Last week, I spoke about trust yourself. But as I completed that reflection, I realized that the key to trusting yourself as a writer is visualizing success. So, this week I will focus on this topic because I believe unless a writer focuses on success, s(he) won’t be successful as a writer.

To visualize success, you have to believe that you could be successful as a writer. Now, it is far harder to visual success if you haven’t had much success as a writer. I know I was there once upon a time. However, I know that once I changed my mind-set from never expecting to get published and getting contracts, to working hard to hone my skills as a writer and actually believing that I can become a successful writer just as anyone else, I became successful right away.

If you are reading this post hoping that the same can happen for you, I will make it easy for you. I will tell you how I visualized success for myself.

1. I stopped thinking negatively, one small thought at a time.
2. I stopped stressing out over my negative thoughts by not believing the negative thoughts but choosing to believe the positive ones instead.
3. I started viewing myself as a writer, and a successful one at that.
4. I stopped thinking about what might be, and planted myself in the here and now.
5. I started envisioning success in my writing life and not failure.

By taking these few steps, I was able to change my mind-set and to set some pretty positive writing goals and actually accomplishing them. You can too! Here’s the thing. Your life is what your thoughts make it. So, be a positive emperor in your writing life.

Try it!

Irene S. Roth
Freelance Writer, Blogger, Editor and Author

Leave a Reply

