Meet Children’s Author Jo Lindsell

Welcome to my Blog Jo!  What a pleasure to have you here!

1. Could you tell us a little about yourself?

I’m originally from the UK but moved to Rome Italy in 2001 where I now live with my Italian husband and our two sons. I’ve been writing pretty much since I could hold a pen but only started taken it seriously in 2006 after having my first article published in a newspaper. Since then I’ve written for various publications and websites and published several books, winning a few awards along the way.

My latest project is a rhyming children’s picture book OUT AND ABOUT AT THE ZOO for which I am both the author and illustrator. The book follows a child on a day out with his mum to the zoo discovering all the different animals and was released in print on 1st June this year. It’s now also out in Kindle format.

2. Describe your desk/workspace.

I do most of my work on my laptop as I need to be flexible about my work space with two little one’s to look after. I do a lot of my work from our sofa in the lounge or out on our balcony.
I have a work area set up in the corner of my room with a desk and fixed computer too but since my second son was born it’s turned into more of a filing space than a work area.

3. Do you have a favorite quote?

“Be not afraid of growing slowly; be afraid only of standing still.”

4. What are you currently reading?

Dark Rivers of the Heart by Dean Koontz (I’m a huge fan of his) and Missing Rebecca by John Worsley Simpson.

5. What is the best advice you’ve ever received?

Believe in yourself and never under value your talents.

6. If you could have coffee with anyone (living or dead, real or fictional), who would it be and why?

C.S. Lewis would have to be high on my list. The creator of so many great stories including, of course, The Chronicles of Narnia.

7. What are your top three favorite books and why?

Anne Franks Diary. I read this book for the first time when I was about 13 years old as part of a school project and was so inspired by her. It was the first book that ever made me cry when reading it.

Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella. As a big shopping fan I immediately connected with the main character. I’ve also read other books from the series and all are equally as good. Pure chick-lit fun.

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. Wilde was a pure genius and this book shows his creative talents to perfection.

8. What was your favorite book as a child and why?

The Adventures of Winnie the Pooh by A.A. Milne. I loved (and still do) all the characters of these wonderful children’s books.

9. Do you write full-time or part-time?

The amount I manage to work depends largely on my kids as I’m first and foremost a fulltime mum. One of the great things about being a writer is the flexibility it gives me.

10. Is there anything in your life you wish you could do over and why?

No. I believe that everything happens for a reason and so wouldn’t change a thing. The tough times make us stronger and we learn from mistakes to become better people.

11. Who has been your biggest support or inspiration?

My husband and kids. I really do have the best family ever. Supportive, encouraging, motivating and inspiring.

12. Where can people/readers to contact you?

I’m a real social media junky and so can be found pretty much everywhere on the web. My website http://www.JoLinsdell.com has links to my profiles and blogs and other contact links.

Thanks so much for visiting with me on my blog Jo! It was a pleasure to talk to you about your book on the Stories for Children Blog Talk Radio show last month.

Leave a Reply

