Nancy I. Sanders’ Book Launch Party

Please help me welcome Nancy I. Sanders’ to my blog today.  What an honor and great pleasure this will be!

How did you get the idea to write a book about Frederick Douglass?

The first time I ever wrote about the topic of African American history, it was at the request of an editor. Once that project was finished, I realized I had a new passion…writing about African American history for kids.

I decided to specialize in this topic. To do this, I started to collect research books on this topic for my own personal library of reference books in my home. I also started looking for other ways I could write about this topic. I queried children’s magazines for both fiction and nonfiction articles and started landing assignments. I pitched ideas to different publishers in a variety of markets and landed contracts to write various titles from a picture book to a middle grade novel to a book on readers theatre.

The more I researched and the more I specialized on this topic, I discovered many fascinating facts! One thing I learned is that among the many influential men and women in our nation, three great leaders have stood head and shoulders above the rest:

Richard Allen during the Revolutionary War era
Frederick Douglass during the Civil War era
Martin Luther King Jr. during the Civil Rights Movement

So it was only natural that I’ve wanted to write a book about each of these great American heroes. I started with Richard Allen and landed a contract to write his story in the book, America’s Black Founders: Revolutionary Heroes and Early Leaders (www.AmericasBlackFounders.wordpress.com).

Next I wanted to write a book on Frederick Douglass, so I turned to the same publisher of America’s Black Founders and discovered they did not yet have a book on him! So I pitched the idea and landed the contract to write the book.

What book do you want to write next?

I’m just not done yet writing about Frederick Douglass! There are so many notes and so much information that I discovered during my research that I couldn’t possibly pack into this one title. So I’d like to write another book about Frederick Douglass. Perhaps with more of a focus on his influence during the Civil War, the black troops that were formed, and the numerous African Americans who were awarded the Medal of Honor during battle. Plus there were a lot of women who helped make a difference during the war such as Harriet Tubman and Suzie King Taylor. So right now I’m exploring options for various publishers who might be interested in this potential book.

What are you doing to celebrate the release of your book, Frederick Douglass for Kids?

I’m hosting a two-week virtual Book Launch Party! There are prizes to win, fun facts to learn, and lots of inside peeks and helpful tips about how a book is born. Stop by my site today to join in the party. You can join the fun on my blog today at:

http://nancyisanders.wordpress.com/2012/06/11/book-launch-party-frederick-douglass-for-kids-7/

Thank you so much, Irene, for being a stop on my Book Launch Party!

It’s a joy to visit your site! You can join in my party tomorrow at the site of Donna McDine at: http://www.donna-mcdine.blogspot.com/

Thanks so much for being here on my blog today Nancy!  You are such an inspiration to me!

Featured Book:

Frederick Douglass for Kids: His Life and Times with 21 Activities

By Nancy I. Sanders

Author’s site: http://www.nancyisanders.com

Book’s site: www.FrederickDouglass.wordpress.com

Purchase the book on Amazon at: http://tinyurl.com/7opjcn4

Book Synopsis

Few Americans have had as much impact on this nation as Frederick Douglass. Born on a plantation, he later escaped slavery and helped others to freedom via the Underground Railroad. In time he became a bestselling author, an outspoken newspaper editor, a brilliant orator, a tireless abolitionist, and a brave civil rights leader. He was famous on both sides of the Atlantic in the years leading up to the Civil War, and when war broke out, Abraham Lincoln invited him to the White House for counsel and advice.

Frederick Douglass for Kids follows the footsteps of this American hero, from his birth into slavery to his becoming a friend and confidant of presidents and the leading African American of his day. And to better appreciate Frederick Douglass and his times, readers will form a debating club, cook a meal similar to the one Douglass shared with John Brown, make a civil war haversack, participate in a microlending program, and more. This valuable resource also includes a time line of significant events, a list of historic sites to visit or explore online, and web resources for further study.

 Author’s Bio

Nancy I. Sanders is the bestselling and award-winning author of over 80 books including the picture book D is for Drinking Gourd: An African American Alphabet, illustrated by E.B. Lewis. She teaches other writers how to launch their career to the next level based on material found in her groundbreaking book for writers, Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Children’s Books, Get Them Published, and Build a Successful Writing Career. Nancy and her husband, Jeff, live in southern California. They have two adult sons, Dan and Ben.

 

6 thoughts on “Nancy I. Sanders’ Book Launch Party

  1. Pingback: Book Launch Party: Frederick Douglass for Kids « Blogzone

  2. Irene, it’s such a joy to be here on your site today as part of my Book Launch Party. Thanks for helping me celebrate the release of “Frederick Douglass for Kids”!

  3. Pingback: Frederick Douglass for Kids - Virtual Book Tour | The Working Writer's Club

  4. I’m surprised this publisher didn’t have a book on Douglass. Good for you for finding this gap and pitching them one. I’ll definitely be on board to review this next book about Douglass too. I enjoyed this one.

    Wishing you the best,

    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

