NaNoWriMo Starts

I love the month of November. It gives me a chance to hibernate more and to write without distractions. Every November for five years now, I have participated in the NaNo Challenge. For those of you who don’t know what the NaNo challenge is, it is to write a 50,000 word novel in a month.

The first year I participated in the challenge, I was a bit lost. I fell behind a few times on my word count. I got distracted, and did too many other things. So, you guess it—I was unsuccessful. But the next year, I wizened-up. I kept focused. And from then, I’m proud to say that I completed a draft of a novel each year for the past four years. So, I am hoping I will be able to produce a draft of one more completed novel this year. I will keep you posted.

And, I’m ready for another NaNo challenge. I have laid in the food supply and office supplies to have a productive month. I plan to write one and a half hours a day for 30 days to complete my novel. By then, I’ll be finished my novel and I can spend December redrafting the manuscript. There is no better, more positive way, of ending the year for a writer.

So, grab that hot chocolate or java and join me on this challenge.

Good luck. Keep those fingers tapping on the keyboard!

~ Irene S. Roth, MA

Leave a Reply

