Mondays are so hard, aren’t they?

       How many of you writers have a difficult time to get back to
       your writing and your routine on Mondays? Come on put up your
       hands.  I know you exist.
      
       Many writers I have personally spoken to in person, at
       conferences, and online have told me how difficult Mondays are
       for them. They all have certain things that they have to do to focus
       on Mondays.
      
       Here are a few tips that I have heard over the years.
      
       1.  I get up and meditate for ten minutes. I don’t think about
       anything…not things that I have to do…or things that I should do. I
       just breathe for ten minutes. And then I feel much more focused
       for my day of writing.
      
       2.  I write out a detailed plan on Sunday and prioritize the items
       using a red pen and highlighter. Then when I get to my desk on
       Monday morning, I just get right to the first task that I planned to
       do. Then I cross off the first once I have done it and move to the
       second. By the time I get to the third item, I am much more
       focused.
      
       3.  On Mondays, I get right to my writing. I don’t answer
       emails, or answer the phone. I don’t make phone calls either. I
       don’t even go to the mailbox. I just sit down and write for at least
       an hour or two. That helps to focus my day much better.
      
       How about you?  What do you do on Mondays?  Take the time
       to leave us your tips. We would love to hear from you!
      
       ~ Happy Monday!
       ~ Irene

Leave a Reply

