Do you have Fuzzy Goals?

      There’s nothing worse than having fuzzy goals. Fuzzy goals are
       goals that you set but that you’re not sure you can fulfill. These may
       also be goals that you don’t have a clear sense of, even while you
       were setting them. Fuzzy goals won’t help you to be successful.
      
       My goals last year were all fuzzy. I had no clear idea where I was
       going or where I was at any point in time. I kind of floundered
       about, going from task to task in an unorganized manner. I had no
       overall purpose for my writing goals, and I certainly didn’t set any
       definite deadlines to complete projects. And that really hurt me in
       the end.
      
       The worse thing that you could do as a writer is to be efficient
       and not merely effective. In order to be successful, you have to be both
       efficient and effective. I was efficient all right. I got a lot of writing
       done. But when I look back at my overall output, I wasn’t successful.
       I didn’t send out more than a third of what I wrote, and I didn’t
       follow through on comments that I received from editors.
      
       When you’re efficient but not effective, you have fuzzy goals.
       Go back to the drawing board and revise your goals and make
       sure that 2011 is the best and most productive year ever for you in
       your writing career.
      
       ~ Irene

Leave a Reply

