The Importance of Focus

       There are many things that you could do as a writer to minimize
       external disturbances that lead to a lack of focus. Some of these things
       can be done successfully. But some other things are nearly impossible to
       achieve.
      
       For instance, if you live in a large city, short of getting a sound
       proofed house or apartment, you won’t be able to experience no noise
       whatsoever. There will always be sirens in the background, people
       walking by and perhaps chatting, a soccer game in the park and so on.
      
       I live in a small town and there can still be a lot of distractions. For
       instance, I was out on one of my many walks around the Avon River in
       the morning, and I forgot that the Dragon Boat races were on. Well
       needless to say, I couldn’t do a lot of thinking on that walk. Then I came
       back home only to find that a gardener across the street was cutting the
       grass. Then the was trimming the hedges. So, there wasn’t a lot of quiet
       for me that day. So, how did I cope. 
       
       Here are a few things that I did:
       
       1.  I went into another part of the house and put in my ear plugs.
       Then I was able to work on my lap desk and get some writing done.
      
       2.  Once the noise subsided outside, I got right to work. I spent time
       planning what I was going to do so that I could get as much work done
       as possible.
      
       3.  Despite the fact that my phone rang, I didn’t answer the phone. And then I
       set up my answering machine to pick up the rest of my calls and I
       turned off the ringer.
      
       4.  I tried not to cram too much into that day and gave myself some
       slack so that I could rest and just be for a few hours before bed.
      
       5.  I lay down for a good night sleep. Getting ample rest is one of the
       most important things that you can do to concentrate effectively and to
       focus on your work. You will reap a lot of rewards if you sleep well
       every night. 
      

       ~ Irene Roth

3 thoughts on “The Importance of Focus

  1. Irene, great article, mate. Unlike Suzanne, I like the bold in the right column. In fact, I like bold and larger fonts in general. If you are over 45, like many of us, all that small, pale writing, is very hard to read – even when you click Control+ to enlarge it a bit. Readers hate to struggle a squint to read. Just my 2 cents.

    Books for Kids – http://www.margotfinke.com
    “Horatio Humble Beats the Big D” (dyslexia)

Leave a Reply

