Do You have What it Takes?

       
       When I was participating in my first November NaNoWriMo
       a few years ago, I remember vividly one of my associates at
       work asking me, Do you have what it takes to complete the
       competition? 
      
       I thought about for a few seconds and then said, Of course I
       have what it takes! Well, this must shocked her because she
       never asked me again when I embarked on subsequent
       NaNoWriMo’s.
      
       I had and have full confidence in my abilities to participate
       in this competition. I don’t put undue stress and unrealistic
       goals on myself. I just sit down and write every day. And that
       is motivation enough. And ANYONE can do that. You don’t need
       to be a rocked scientist or have a doctorate. You just have
       to sit down and put the hours writing.
      
       I am very different from some writers and writing coaches. I
       believe that ALL OF US can become writers, not only a select
       few. Therefore, I also feel that ALL OF US has what it takes to
       do the NaNoWriMo. So, if you’re wondering whether you have
       what it takes, stop stressing over that thought and just start
       writing. Because writing will beget writing and there is
       nothing better than just simply sitting down and writing
       consistently for your self-esteem.
      
       So, my answer to all of you fellow writers is, OF COURSE
       YOU HAVE WHAT IT TAKES. JUST HAVE CONFIDENCE
       IN YOURSELF AND WRITE AND THE REST WILL TAKE
       CARE OF ITSELF.
      
       Didn’t mean to scream at you….but I am very passionate
       about this topic and I would hate anyone to miss out on a
       wonderful life of writing just because someone told you that you
       didn’t have what it took to write.  How should they know? Only
       you. So, go ahead, prove them wrong.
      
       ~ Happy writing!
       ~ Irene

Leave a Reply

