Archive | May 19, 2010

Write regardless of the circumstances

              
       Writers should write, regardless of the circumstances. If we are
       to become serious writers, we must just get into the habit of
       writing nothing more and nothing less.
      
       If we look for the ‘right’ circumstances in order to write, we will
       be wasting a lot of time and possible productive energy. With
       myself, I have written on subway trains, in train stations, in parks,
       malls, cafes, when I was angry, mad, upset, sad, ecstatic, or bored.
       I wrote if I had an argument with my spouse or with my Mom. I
       wrote if an editor told me that my manuscript was not publishable
       too.
      
       There is so much that can come in the way of writers that if they
       stopped and were paralyzed every time bad things happened,
       they would NEVER write. So, try and write consistently
       regardless of the circumstances.  You will get a lot more writing
       done because bad days are usually more predictably part of a
       human life than good ones.
      
       Let me give you an example. Lately, I have terrible arthritis
       pain. Some days, I find it hard to get to my computer and to sit
       down and write for endless hours.  So how do I handle those
       days? Well for one thing, I pace myself. I write for about a half an
       hour and then I got and put my hands in warm water for ten
       minutes. Then I get back to writing again. Second, I don’t beat
       myself up if I don’t do as much as I would ordinarily. However, I
       still continue writing.
      
       So, fellow writers, regardless of your circumstances, write
       anyway. You will be very glad that you did.
      
       ~ Irene