Writing Partners and Critique Groups

      
   There is a difference between having a writing partner and being part of a
   critique group.  I think that serious writers need both a writing partner and a
   critique group in order to excel as a writer. This is especially the case when
   you are starting out as a writer.
  
   Recently, I formed a relationship with a writing partner. I can’t believe the
   difference she has made with my writing. We contact each other once a week
   and we talk for about an hour. We talk about our writing projects and our
   goals for the week. We encourage each other to take on writing projects and
   help each other through tough times.
  
   This has been such a blessing in my writing life. I feel so alone when
   writing. None of my friends are writers, so talking to them doesn’t help me a
   bit at all. So, I feel so blessed having a writing partner, and since I started
   talking to her and working with her, I have excelled beyond measure. I hope
   that we will be each other writing partner for a long time.
  
   Critique groups are also important for writers. And I am part of two such
   groups. Those groups are usually wonderful places for writers to exchange
   their writing and have it critiqued. Other readers can tell a a lot about your
   writing that you can’t see yourself. And that kind of objectivity is necessary.
  
   Critique groups are especially important for writers who are just about to
   send manuscripts out to publishers. It is difficult for you to see mistakes in
   your own manuscripts. However, it is amazing how quickly other
   individuals can point out inconsistencies, plotting problems, and so on.
  
   So, if you are a serious writer, I suggest that you have both a writing
   partner and a critique group that you belong to. You don’t necessarily need
   to get together with these individuals in person. The internet has given
   writers so many choices to meet people without actually leaving the comfort
   of their homes.
  
  
   ~ Irene

Leave a Reply

