On The Revision Process

      
   Yesterday, I had the pleasure of listening to a wonderful teleclass that was
   given by Suzanne Lieurance about how to review a picture book manuscript.
   It had the hands-on feel of a workshop and it was so wonderfully instructive
   and intimate.
                      
   I find the revision process really tedious and boring. I kind of want the
   manuscript to be revised and then sent off as quickly as possible. I am quite
   impatient and I keep thinking that it shouldn’t take so long.
  
   However, as I learned yesterday, the revision process can be a wonderful
   experience if you just relax into it and let things transpire as they will. I
   sometimes like to force myself to mould my manuscripts quickly. But I
   learned that this isn’t always the best thing to do.
  
   What I keep forgetting is that there is an organic process that goes into
   revision, and if I try to force the revision process, the dynamics of the process
   becomes disrupted and ruined. But even more importantly, I start feeling
   overwhelmed and I start lacking confidence as a writer. I keep feeling that
   this manuscript should already be out. But if the time isn’t right, then the
   manuscript will probably be rejected anyway by editors.
  
   So, after the workshop, I sat down for a while and reflected why I keep
   feeling this way. Why am I overwhelmed when I revise picture book
   manuscripts?  I opened my journal and wrote for over an hour. And at the
   end of the hour, I discovered a lot of habitual patterns of thought about
   revision that had to change if I am to be successful. Most of them had to do
   with my self-image as a writer.
  
   I hope that you will take the time to go through this process yourself. Sit
   down and reflect on how the revision process is for you and whether you like
   it or not. Journal about it until you have gained a lot of insight and
   knowledge into why revision is such a negative experience for you.  Once
   you are aware of why this is the case, you’ll be able to make revision a much
   more positive time for you.
  
   I have so enjoyed being part of the Children’s Writers Coaching Club. I
   have learned so much and I am growing as a writer.  For more information
   on the club, please visit http://www.cwcoachingclub.com or click on the
   link at the right.

   ~ Irene

8 thoughts on “On The Revision Process

  1. Irene,

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the teleclass.

    Many writers rush the revision process. But I think that’s because they really don’t know what they need to do in order to revise their manuscript effectively. I hope last night’s teleclass provided you with a process to follow when revising a picture book manuscript. And now that you know the process, you can relax and actually ENJOY revising your picture book manuscripts.

    Happy writing – and revising!

    • Hi Suzanne,

      Yes, I have the structure to follow right here beside me and I will continue to follow it with all of my picture book manuscripts. Thank you again for a wonderful teleclass!

      Take care,
      Irene

    • Hi Terri,

      Yes, they sre do!!!! I find that Suzanne’s classes offer so much information and encouragement. I am so glad to have her as my coach.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Warmly,
      Irene

  2. Great post Irene! I am right there with you. It takes learning, growing and patience to polish a book of any kind. And as Suzanne stated, writing children’s picture books is really tough. There are so many things to consider. The revision process is brutal. Hopefully one day we will reap the benefits of having our treasured idea brought to life. Hang in there, I plan to.

    • Hi Kristi,

      I’m glad that you enjoyed my post. Yes, the revision process can be very difficult. But I am learning to relax with it.

      Take care and visit again,
      Irene

Leave a Reply

